The Golf Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Taylor Made TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers

Taylor Made TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers

TaylorMade Mens R1 Golf Drivers ONE golf driver that tunes to any loft, any look and any flight! 80% of golfers are playing the wrong loft. 24% of golfers are wrong by 2° or more. One single golf club, the new TaylorMade R1 driver can be tuned to fit Tour pros and amateurs alike with 7 standard and 5 upright loft options between 8º and 12º (± 2º) to obtain optimal launch angle. With an incredible amount of adjustability the R1 also features 7 face angle options: N/square, open, medium-open, maximum-open, closed, medium-closed, maximum-closed; as well as shot-shaping movable weights to promote a neutral/straight flight or a distance-enhancing draw. TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers feature: Adjustable lofts - 7 standard and 5 upright loft options, 7 face angle options Shot-shaping movable weights Improved aerodynamics reduce drag Thick-thin crown provides lower and more-forward center of gravity location promoting high launch, fast ball speed and low spin Inverted Cone Technology milled into the inner side of the clubface expands the portion of the face that delivers high ball speed Black clubface, non-glare white crown and new gray/orange/ black crown graphic together promote easy alignment Graphite shaft available in [ATTRIBUTE_LIST:FLEX DELIMITER=BULLET] Available in left- and right-hand Includes headcover Click Product Tour under the image above for alternate views and more details R1 Drivers... Maximum Versatility; Tweak, Tune, Perfect!
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 out of 3597%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Review 1 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't Fix Your Swing, Buy This Club

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Rouseman
from Summerville, SC
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the 2013 Taylormade R1 driver for about three weeks before deciding to list it for sale. This driver is really cool looking and can be extremely helpful to some golfers. If you would like to make directional corrections of the tee without changing your swing, this driver is for you. Using the multiple adjustments, you can create a higher or lower ball flight. You can straighten out a slice, fade, draw and even a hook. From my experience with this driver, if you already hit the ball fairly straight and just need extra distance, this is not the driver for you. If you normally hook or slice, this driver will help to straighten out that ball flight and as a result, you will see some extra distance off the tee. I went to the range on 3 separate occasions and put this driver up against my 2007 Taylormade Burner. I’ve hit just about every driver that Taylormade came out with since 2005 and in my opinion, the 2007 Burner is still their best ever (for my swing). My 2007 Burner blows past the R1 each and every time. It’s easier to swing and the ball flight is much straighter.
For many golfers out there, the R1 will be a benefit, but unfortunately it was not for me. Also, the sound this driver makes brought back memories of my first square Nike driver. My recommendation is to bring your current driver to the store and hit your driver as well as the one you’re considering. If your current driver is producing similar or better results, spend the cash on a weekend get-away instead.
Pros: attractive
Cons: sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Taylormade driver,.........

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
shaggy404
from Mt Pleasant, TX
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded to the R1 from my R11s, and overall i'm really impressed. I made a point to get fit using one of the large 3-D simulators and I kept adusting things until I got the optimal launch angle and back spin for "my"swing. It really surprised me that it was at the 11.25* setting. Just 3 years ago I played with a 9.5 degree driver and then the last couple of years i've played a 10.5* loft, and now i'm at 11.25*. The shaft is lighter but still feels very responsive and the face seems a little hotter than on the R11s. In my honest opinion, if you dont get fit for this driver using one of the 3-D simulators that measures all aspects of ballflight and spin rate, you're just not gonna reap the full benefits of all of the adjustability that this driver has to offer. Overall,... the R1 is only slightly longer than the R11s, äppx 6-8yards", but it seems a little more forgiving on off center hits. I think a person switching to this driver from an older fixed loft driver will see a big difference in gains with the R1 after dialing it in for their swing.
Handicap 14.5
Pros: unlimited adjustability.....
Cons: pretty $$$$$$$
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This driver is awesome

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Jamesonthelake
from Kimberling City
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have played three games with the R1 and been to the range twice to tune it in. As a 15 handicap getting consistently in the 70's is my goal. Putting, chipping and iron play are usually my strong suit. Driving my downfall...fade to slice, not much distance. I started with the 11.5 setting, 1 degree closed setting. Some improvement but not worth $ 400. After reading some blogs on the R1 went to 12 degree's, neutral (which is 3 open on the bottom soul plate) and 10 gram wt in heel, 1 gm wt in toe. Shot 75 and 78 with the new settings...wow this is fun. Ball has great trajectory and straight to slight fade ball flight. If you spend the time to get to the right setting, this will improve your game.
Handicap 15
Pros: High quality, forgiving
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Max Adjust to set Launch Angle -- Shorter shaft

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
partzr
from VA
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of setting choices (maybe too many) but once settled on a loft then adjusted face angle. Like the weight adjustment options which worked well on my previous Taylormade Drivers. Used two rounds distance better than my usual and dispersion was good. Sound different from previous drivers I have had but can get used to that. Graphics are busy at first but they really do help with allignment once you get past. The colors on R1 are darker than the new RBZ and standout better for allignment. Little Pricey that a personal choice. Playability limited to how set-up but not being able to work left and right not an issue for me -- consistent flight and shape is and this has it!!
Handicap 12
Pros: High quality, max adjustment, nice shaft
Cons: graphics (at first)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just getting to know it

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Kgolfinghawaii
from Phoenix
Frequency of Play:less than once per week
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited a year for the price drop, good decision so far. At first I hated the sound off the club face, but now I am starting to like it because there is a softer sound, but surprising distance if you will. I have only played two rounds with it after 6.5 years with my Tour Edge Exotics driver, but so far so good. Like I said surprising distance on a couple of hits and the Tour Edge was long for me the first few years. I am a 55 year old male and got a couple of 300 yarders out of it the second time out. Granted I live in AZ so distance is a little bit exaggerated here, but all in all I like it so far. I am 2-3 handicap for refrence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Longer than I hoped for

PostedMay 1, 2013
Wrk2golf
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been trying to replace my 6 year old R7 Draw for 3 years. I have not been able to find anything that gave me appreciably more distance. Actually bought an RBZ Sage 2 that I ended up returning because I could not hit it straight. Went to a demo day and tried the Stage 2 again with no success. Then went to the R1. I felt if I was able to achieve 1/2 the added distance the launch monitor claimed I was getting I would be happy. The final result was amazing! I have moved back a set of tees and am still hitting shorter clubs into the greens. Getting the settings right is key. This club is well worth the extra money.
Pros: long and forgiving
Cons: not available sooner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adjustability to the Max!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
TMAdidas
from Buffalo, NY
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This club is a solid driver that flat-out performs. The first thing that you'll notice is the really cool graphic on the crown. This is really nice because it's what distinguishes your R1 from your buddy's clubs. Also, the extreme adjustability allows for a multitude of lofts without changing the face angle. This is great because it lets you get the ball flight you desire and you can adjust it depending on the wind and how your swing changes. This club also has distance. Even though it focuses on adjustability, it can pound the ball. You owe it to yourself to hit this club!
Handicap 15
Pros: High quality, Durable, cool look, ultimate adjustability
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid club, reduces spin significantly

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Edward Magur
from MC LEAN
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had the RBZ Tour Driver/stiff stock shaft/9 degree and loved how hot it was, but hit it very high with a lot of spin. Got the R1 with the stock X-stiff shaft and wow, what a difference. The ball still comes off hot, but clearly has less spin (almost looks like it is knuckling). I initially moved the loft to 8.5 and quickly up to 9.5, and now to 10 degrees. It feels a lot heavier in general and part of that is the X-shaft. If younare looking for a driver that is hot with less spin, then this is the club for you. The adjustability is awesome as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accuracy plus distance.

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Joseph Cironi
from Lake Charles, Louisiana
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Played 3 rounds to date my new Taylor Made R1 driver. As a 74 year old 12 handicapper I was looking for some distance and a few more fairways off the tee. Will make one more adjustment for next round. Experiance so far shows the club has indeed helped with about 7-10 yards and more fairways hit. The phone app that helps with adjusting the club is excellant and the process of making adjustments is easy and comfortable.
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT DRIVER

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Dave1950
from Harwood,Md
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its seems some golfers don't like this driver. If you can not hit this driver then you need help. Bought the R1 two days ago still working on the right settings. Even the factory settings this goes long. I have used
TM products for more than 20 years, and never had trouble. I'm a true 18 hdcap and 63 yrs old. Just see a Pro and have them work with you and you will see that this is the best driver TM has made to date.
Handicap 18
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

R1 Driver

PostedJune 3, 2013
FuzzyM
from Center Ossipee, NH
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a new driver for several years and I found the R1 was a good choice. The adjustability will make playing different courses easier. My course up north requires a higher ball flight and for the player to move the ball left to right. So now I have the face open at 10.5 degrees. Come winter in Florida I'll probably lower the loft for more roll and square up the face. Convenient!
Pros: adjustability, distance, forgiveness on mishits
Cons: head distracting, sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't expect miracles.

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Blueman
from Washington Boro
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sure this is a fine club, but don't expect a major change in your play unless you were using a ten year old driver. It has the bells and whistles, but I haven't found any great advantage over my past two drivers -- but new for their years of issue. I do hope that some practice and play with it will allow me to take better advantage of the adjustments available.
Handicap 12
Pros: High quality, Durable, interesting appearance
Cons: takes some time to adjust to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It feels totally different than the other drivers.

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
BoomTown
from Greensboro, NC
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing just feels good. Not your everyday driver. I tried other Taylor Made drivers that didnt have the heavy price tag, but they didnt compare to the R1. It's so solid and LOOOONG. increased my drive an average of 11 yards. Go ahead and open the wallet and get you one!
Handicap 10
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STEP UP

PostedMay 22, 2013
1STUP
from BERLIN, MD
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the R11 and Rocketblz drivers and the R1 is a major step up in feel, forgiveness and playability. Take the time to work on the settings and you won't be sorry. Distance is about 10-15 yards more on good hits but much better on off center hits.
Pros: High quality, forgiveness and feel
Cons: price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love that I can adjust this driver so many ways

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Tallgirl
from Atlanta, GA
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that I can adjust this driver if my game changes. TGW offered it at a great price and delivered it pronto in perfect shape. Now that I know they make adjustable drivers, I can't imagine why anyone would buy one that isn't adjustable.
Pros: adjustability
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice club for the money

PostedJune 24, 2013
CaddyshackIII
from Denver, CO
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:21 +
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am relatively new to golf but the loft adjustment helped immediately to improve my distance. TGW was very responsive and prompt with delivery and they offered the club for $50 less before anyone else did.t
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Driver

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Jsgolfer
from Virgipnia
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Playability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lost 20 yards off the tee with it. Never went the same way twice. Will stick with my Titelist. Several other low handicappers tried to hit it and couldn't either, pretty much the worst driver I've ever hit.
Handicap 3
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-23points
3of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There is a learning curve

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Salgolfer
from Gatesville TX
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:21 +
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At least for me as I went from an R11 Senior flex to the !R and a regular flex. It had a good feel but I need to get used to the new club. I Think It will be fine by the time spring gets here
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

just what i was looking for

PostedDecember 23, 2013
rvsales54
from idaho
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have only had an opportunity to play one round with it, but was very impressed. on good hits, the ball jumps off the face, on off hits, much better result than I'm used to
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for TaylorMade Mens R1 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional product highly recommended

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Dean99
from Texas
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great driver. I recommend using the app for setup. I have mine set at 10.5 degrees loft and 2 closed . Producing a slight draw. Accuracy off the tee is exceptional.
Handicap 16
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>