The Golf Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cleveland Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Golf Warehouse.

Cleveland Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers

Cleveland Classic 290 Driver Classic Styling Takes You Back. Ultralite Technology Moves You Forward. Classic looks, yes, but distance like you've never seen before, thanks to the largest and deepest club face ever produced by Cleveland Golf. Pair that with the easily-generated increases in swing speed driven by Ultralite Technology and you have a driver that's no throwback but, instead, will push your ball farther than you thought possible. Which is likely why it won 2012 Golf Digest Hot List Gold in the driver category. The Classic 290 Driver, along with its stable mates, the 270 and the Tour, is among the lightest drivers on the market (hint: 290 gram clubweight for the Classic 290), helping players generate measurable increases in swing speed for more distance with the same swing effort. Cleveland Classic 290 Driver features: Lofts: 7.5° • 9° • 10.5° • 12° Graphite shaft available in Senior, Regular, Stiff, or X-Stiff flex Available in left-and right-hand Includes headcover Details (for alternate images, click Product Tour above): Sole: Aerodynamically-engineered head design helps generate your maximum potential swing speed Setup: Traditionally pear-shaped, 460cc head inspires confidence at address and allows for shot-shaping control Face: Largest and deepest club face ever produced by Cleveland Golf for the largest effective hitting area and hot ball flight Large face combined with MaxCOR2 Technology provides maximum distance and forgiveness on off-center hits Toe: 290 gram total club weight is engineered for unique performance and optimal feel for every type of player Shaft: Miyazaki C Kua 43 Graphite Grip: Lamkin SuperLike 36g Cleveland Golf. How the Game Should Feel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 out of 4393%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Review 1 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it more than I thought I would

PostedOctober 31, 2013
marsenous
from Beaumont, Tx
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this driver because the price was good and it looked cool. I have really liked the deep face which allows me to tee the ball up high and not go under it. I also love the light weight which helps with my tempo. I switched from a Titleist 910D3 but really prefer this driver.
Pros: deep face and light weight
Cons: stock grip is not very good but easily changed out
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looks great at setup and hits long.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
ATo1
Frequency of Play:less than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been playing for over 25 years and have seen the driver heads grow bigger and wider. I don't know if I could ever go back to the Warbird size but I do miss my Launcher 400. I get it all back with the Cleveland Classic. Deep face that looks great at setup with a large sweet spot and all the distance I need.
Pros: looks great
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

see the review I just submitted on the 270.

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
sdstubbs
from Wash
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
see the review I just submitted on the 270. Love this driver;s looks and performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great looking driver, very forgiving.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Dolpher
from Gaithersburg, MD
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking driver, a bit longer than my Adams Speedline and much more forgiving. This driver lets you know when you've caught it square, it has a great sound on impact.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great driver

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Triplethreat
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The driver has a really different sound to it. You will love it when ou get used to it.
Pros: High quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Searing Trajectory with Great Control

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Jtiken
from Omaha
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am definitely pleased with my purchase of this club. I got the 9* version with a stiff flex shaft. The club face is expansive and forgiving. I've found that most of my misses (especially thin ones) still go dead straight. Even on the less pretty strikes the ball still seems to find the fairway. And when I catch it flush......oh my. Catching it flush the ball jumps off the face and follows a penetrating, searing trajectory with the slightest of repeatable draws. I hadn't swung a driver in 6 months and this club blew all expectations out of the water. I would really recommend this club to any array of players. Beginners will love the forgiveness and more experienced players will love the trajectory and ease to work the ball. Also as a side note, this club looks sweet. I might also recommend replacing the grip.
Pros: long, accurate, great look
Cons: so-so grip
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedJuly 12, 2013
djmcg
from REDLANDS
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the total weight of this driver makes me make a better swing, which has allowed me to gain 12 to 16 yards on my drives. even not so solid hits go further. it did take a half dozen swings to adjust to the over all weight of this driver, but I'm not complaining!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, appearance good looking club not ugly
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice draw

PostedJune 20, 2013
Zuppa
from Boston
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Club is very smooth through the ball and promotes a nice draw which I've been trying for.
Pros: High quality, nice looking club
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unrealistic expectations

PostedJune 4, 2013
JerBear
from hilliard
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Playability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchase the Cleveland Classic 290 driver with an A shaft with the expectations that it might help me add some height and distance to my drives. It did neither. It is avery attractive club. The sound it makes at impact is a different, non-metallic sound than any other metalwood that I have owned, more like the old persimmon drivers. But for me, the primary goal was unfulfilled.
Pros: throwback looks and sound.
Cons: no added distance or height
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this driver

PostedMay 26, 2013
TheGeneral
from Fairfax, VA
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great look and feel. I have hit more fairways with this club than any other I have owned. Mat not be for everyone but this is perfect for my game
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I good solid club

PostedMay 24, 2013
Tyan38
from New York, NY
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this driver because I was attracted to the classic looks and the quality of Cleveland golf clubs. Took a few rounds to get used to, but once I started getting the rhythm of the weight of the clubhead and shaft, I loved how this driver performed. Very solid feel on contact, ball flight is medium high and bores through the air very powerfully and drives the ball a long way. I've come to really love this club and the price is great too.
Pros: High quality, Durable, beautiful looks
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun times

PostedMay 15, 2013
MrPure1
from Draper, Utah
Frequency of Play:less than once per week
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am hitting this driver so pure---so so pure. I understand that I am the reason of such purity but the club looks and plays very well
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Driver

PostedMay 5, 2013
TGW Customer
from 22191
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been playing golf for about a year and a half, and I usually shoot between a 91 and 94, so I'm not very good at the sport. My last driver was a Callaway Diablo Edge and I wanted to upgrade from a "beginner" driver, but I couldn't mentally justify purchasing a 500 dollar driver with 85 adjustable angles, lofts, et cetera, especially when I don't hit my Diablo the way I want to all the time. I opted for the 9 degree with stiff flex.This club is not as forgiving as the Diablo, but on a solid hit it is definitely 10 yards longer. It has a nice, balanced feel, and I really like the way the Miyazaki shaft is paired with the large club head. It is also a gorgeous club, especially in the sun. The only drawback I can think of is that some people may feel that it is just too light at 290 grams. I, however, really like the ultra-light feel, playability, and looks of this club.
Pros: High quality, Durable, handsome, excellent value, inspires confidence
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

looks good feels good

PostedApril 16, 2013
MrLipps
from So Fla
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accuracy is much improved, forgiving, a little extra distance but not much
Handicap 6
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedMarch 24, 2013
idoc
from La Jolla
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent club but very light so you need a smooth stable swing, or a very repeatable swing.
Distance is excellent and face is so large it is very forgiving.
It gives a lot of confidence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very easy to swing

PostedMarch 11, 2013
bobohead
from st, augustine, fl
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall easy to play with and great for the eyes. swings great through follow thru.
Handicap 25
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid feel

PostedMarch 11, 2013
70GUY
from GEORGIA
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the lettering 'classic" to line up the club, sound from hit is resonated and solid-not a metal twang. Nice balance, less weight in club makes a difference to this 70 year old, I average about 13 yards more, a litte more highth with the 12 degree loft but not much. Accuracy and consistancy are much better--I think it is because my alignment is improved with the lettering on the club as an aide. Absolutely a steal for the price.
Handicap 11
Pros: High quality, Durable, alignment using the lettering on club face
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great looking club.

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Cane98
from Tampa, FL
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a high handicapper, this club my not suit your game. It requires several hits on the driving range prior to putting it in play for your next tee time.
Handicap 19
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Huge face with plenty of forgiveness.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
TGW Customer
from Okinawa, Japan
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous driver was an 11 degree Callaway C4 with a regular shaft. I bought it before I knew what I was really buying some years ago. I went with the stiff shaft and a 9 degree this time because I was ballooning shots and hitting all over the place before. This driver solved my problems. Now I am hitting long straight drives and getting the feedback from the driver that I want/need. The stiff shaft is keeping me striking the sweet spot consistently, and the angle of the face is keeping my drives out of the clouds. The brass colored trapezoidal front is visible from address and dramatically improves shot alignment. A lot of reviews mention the style of the club, and I would be remiss if I didn't say that I really appreciate the classic look of the club. This one club has improved my second-shot opportunities and I am consistently hitting over 250 straight down the fairway--what a game-changer!
Handicap 40
Pros: High quality, forgiveness distance, style, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cleveland Mens Classic 290 Drivers
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful club, great value, and very forgiving.

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
SubaruLover
from Virginia
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am just getting back into the game after stoping for about 8 years or so. I had been using an old TaylorMade 360 (shows how long it's been since i've been club shopping) and I never really saw a need to replace it. I hit it very long with the old TaylorMade and have not seen any improvement in distance with the new Cleveland... Sad, because I was hoping that over 10 years the technology would've really made major leaps and i'd be gaining a few extra yards. The great thing about this driver isn't the distance, it's the consistency. It looks obnoxiously large next to my old TM driver and missing the sweet-spot seems almost impossible. Ball can easily be worked both ways off the tee. Speaking of tee, get large tees (at least the 3 inch) to give yourself some more room to get that bulbous head on the ball. To be honest, this driver was a complete impulse buy and I couldn't resist it's retro looks and the great deal through TGW.com. If you are searching for distance, this probably isn't the club for you. If you can already hit the ball pretty far but are looking for some more consistency, give this bad boy a try! I got the Cleveland 290 in a stiff flex. The paint on it seems a little cheap which is why I didn't score it perfectly in the "quality" category. The paint isn't chipping or fading, but just feels rough around the edges. Weird to say, but I can feel where the face meets the crown of the clubhead (which I assume, and hope, is just paint overspray).
Handicap 18
Pros: consistent, gorgeous, lightweight
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>