The Golf Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wilson Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls

Wilson Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls

Soft Feeling Without Compromising Distance! Duo is a high-performance, crazy soft ball that is half the compression of the average leading competitor balls. Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls feature: Soft and durable ionomer cover is responsive and provides increased distance 40 compression ball with an industry average COR makes ball exceptionally long Softer feel for improved playability around the greens More control due to reduced spin off the driver 2-piece construction Available in 12-Ball Pack Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls...High Performance!
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
36 out of 3895%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Review 1 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Birdhunter
from Florida
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only write reviews for products that are either really good or really bad and this product is the real deal! I am a pretty solid player, 11 handicap, and to put it simply, I am one full club longer with these balls, something I have never experienced with any ball and I've hit them all. Actually, I've begun stockpiling these balls just in case the USGA bans them or Wilson decides to release a new version next year and ends up ruining it kinda like Precept did with the Laddie. Seriously, 12-15 yards longer on all my irons and about the same with my driver. It's a little unreal to be honest, the first time I put these in play I was air mailing every green and I couldn't figure out why, until i started hitting 2 different balls from the same spot to compare. Super buttery soft, they putt very well and while I've never really been able to spin a ball on the green I can actually stop these on the green. However, like most good things, after a few rounds I've found, there is a catch. The catch is that you need a consistent swing to get consistent distance/results, here's what I mean. When I hit this ball very crisply and really compress it, it absolutely just jumps off the face, but, if I mishit it I don't really have a chance at hitting the green because I am under clubbed due to the distance adjustment I've had to make with my irons. While this isn't an issue with the driver, it is something you'll have to contend with when hitting approach shots, a small price to pay in my opinion. Bottom line, this ball really is a must try, I know we all have different swings and while you may not experience the same results as I did it's absolutely worth a shot. Great job Wilson!
Handicap 11
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I had to move back to the whites

PostedApril 16, 2012
TimG63
from PALM COAST, FL
Frequency of Play:every week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Way to go Wilson... Just when I got used to playing from the gold tees, you came out with a ball that added 20-30 yards to my drives. The first time I played with them, I was driving over the fairway on doglegs. Thanks... So here I am back at the whites when I realize it's not just the drives that are longer, it's literally every stroke. It was an odd feeling looking for my ball on a 145 yard par 3 that I have hit with a 19.5 degree hybrid forever, only to find my ball 55 yards beyond the pin. Not only does this ball fly for a mile, it bounces/rolls for another half mile after that!!
Now if it only came in yellow... Thank you Wilson Staff!!
Handicap 21
Pros: High quality, Durable, looong!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Higher, more carry, more distance

PostedMay 10, 2012
Rube
from princeton
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used the ball for 12 rounds. I hit the ball higher wth more carry and distance with woods, hybrids, and irons.The spin control and feel is similar to or better than the NXT Tour that I previously used. I confirmed my on course experiences with the DUO on an indoor launch monitor/simulator. On average : Driver 5 yds more carry & distance; Hybris 7 yds more carry & 9 yds distance; Irons 5 yds more carry & distance than with other balls including NXT Tour. I like the feel on all shots and the spin control. All this less cost.
Pros: Durable, High quality, i feel the ball compress on a solid tee shot
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, low-priced ball.

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Robert Vayo
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have been looking for an inexpensive replacement for the Smart Core ball I've played for years (as a 6-8 handicapper). This ball is it! Long off the tee and irons, spins reasonably well off the wedges, feels soft with the putter. Always thought such a low compression ball would feel like mush when hit hard (my swing speed is 85-90 mph), but it feels like a normal compression ball. And when playing in 50 degree weather, never feels too firm. At less than $20/dozen, you can't go wrong!
Pros: High quality, Durable, soft feel
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ball out there for slower swing speeds.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
18everyday
from Chicago, IL
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Played Bridgestone B-330 RX for the past several years. Switched earlier this year to DUO - played it in 105 deg heat in PHX as well as 50 deg weather in Chicago. It's as long as any ball I've played - feels great off the irons and love the feel on putts. Bridgestone spins a bit more but not enough to make any significant difference in my game. Yes , it's a 2-piece ball and no, most of us don't need a 3-4-5 piece ball.
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This ball is not for everyone

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Junbugz
from Los Angeles
Frequency of Play:less than once per week
Distance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The ball feels very hard off the tee.(2 piece ball. What do you expect.) I actually lost a little distance off the tee.(108 mph swing) but, gained a lot of yardage with every other club on grass. All and all I don't think the ball is not meant for faster swing speeds or better players because of the inconsistent yardages and heaviness around the greens.
Handicap 4
Pros: long off grass, price
Cons: Not durable, feel
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ball!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
FCMSpring
from Spring, TX
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I played this ball today in high 30 degree weather and it went out there still. I had a few drives that went 270+. Two weeks earlier in the same weather I was only hitting my normal ball 250. The spin was ample and I loved the feel off the putter. Great cold weather ball. I'll give it a shot when it warms up.
Handicap 18
Pros: High quality, Durable, great in cold
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best non tour ball hands down

PostedJuly 1, 2013
HitItAgain
from Troy, Ohio
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wilson Duo ball is a great ball for my moderate swing speed (88-90). It is soft at impact and has just the right amount of full swing spin to fly high, long and straight. It is also a very durable ball resisting scuffs from wedges and even the occasional tree!
Pros: High quality, Durable, excellent price point
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Golf Ball

PostedJune 1, 2013
DADwholuvsgolf
from Albuquerque NM
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried this golf ball as a change from the FG Tour ball. This DUO ball is very soft. Long flight and feels good off the driver and exceptional off my wedges. Everyone should try these balls. You will like them and save a lot of money doing it.
Pros: High quality, Durable, very soft feel
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
wnr73
from Washington, DC
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ran across the Duo in the late fall. Its a great winter ball for me and good all year round for my wife. Has good feel of driving, irons, and putter. Green side spin not as high as a premium ball, but for the price it really can't be beat!
Handicap 8
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent ball

PostedMarch 10, 2014
andergj
from Houston, TX
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this ball and was a little skeptical so I had to try them for myself. I really like the ball, good soft feel and excellent distance. $20 for a dozen is the cherry on the top. Great ball for a great price.
Pros: High quality, great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Opie
from Minnesota
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little skeptical because of the low price. However, I have played a few rounds with these balls and they are excellent! Great feel for putting and nice distance off the tee. This is the best golf ball value out there!
Handicap 13
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ball ever!!!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Rdane
from Pataskala, Ohio
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been playing the DUO since last year. It is without a doubt, the best ball ever. I play with modern clubs, and hickory shafted clubs, and this ball does great with either. Love the feel, distance and control.
Handicap 20
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great ball for us older golfers!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
OldNFO
from Virginia
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I finally gave up on Pro V1s and went to the softer Wilcon Duo. I'm getting 10-15 yards more and a much better feel on the woods and long irons. Highly recommend for older golfers with slower swing speeds
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ball in golf!!!

PostedMarch 21, 2013
RicW
from Pataskala, Ohio
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second year playing the Wilson DUO. Love that it now comes in yellow. I play with modern clubs, and hickory shafted clubs, and this ball is great for both. Wouldn't play any other ball.
Handicap 20
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value! More distance!

PostedMay 23, 2012
rphoenix
from Summerfield Florida
Frequency of Play:every week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are a golfer with average or below average swing speed looking for more distance and control this ball is for you. Great price, although they may be hard to find, demand is very high.
Handicap 15
Pros: more disatnce
Cons: bit below average durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best ball i have played in a long time

PostedJune 2, 2013
grandya1
from Trenton,Ga.
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ball is great I can hit it as far as I can a prov1 , bridgestone 330 I will never buy any thing else , you will just have to try it , and when you do you will keep playing with it
Pros: High quality, Durable, distance and soft around the greens, i think its the best ball on the market best all
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BALL

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
BOB ROBERTS
from Lake City
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SEVERAL OF MY FRIENDS HAVE TRIED THIS BALL WITH GREAT RESULTS SO I DECIDED TO TRY IT MYSELF. VERY IMPRESSED
GOOD DISTANCE GREAT FEEL . NOT AS ACCURATE AS ANOTHER BRAND OF BALL I PLAY.
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what a find !

PostedMarch 2, 2013
vaIKE
from Chesapeake , Va.
Frequency of Play:every week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All these years I have been overpaying for a ball that would give that feel of control. Now there is the Wilson Duo that achieves that great feel and control at a great price.
Handicap 14
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff Duo Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product lives up to it's expectations.

PostedJuly 14, 2012
golfnut2ml
from Indiana, PA
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very durable ball. Have played up to 4 rounds of golf, with one ball. Campared to the Wilson D:25's, which at the most, would about 2 rounds of golf, with one ball.
Handicap 18
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>