The Golf Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch

Garmin Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch

<font face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size=3" color="#000000"> Limited Time Only! Was: $249.99, Now: $149.99, Garmin S1 GPS Watch...A Multi-Function GPS System ! The Garmin S1 GPS watch is not only a comprehensive sport wristwatch with advanced functions, but also a GPS unit that provides thorough distance measurements on the course. Be the first to display the first and only golf GPS wristwatch on the market at your next game. Your buddies will be jealous! Garmin S1 GPS Watch features: Preloaded with thousands of courses and ready to go out-of-the box Easily switch between U.S. or Canadian courses for free by downloading the desired coverage area from the Garmin CourseView Updater webpage http://www8.garmin.com/support/courseview_updater.html Garmin offers FREE LIFETIME COURSE UPDATES so you can have the latest and greatest course data available Monochrome LCD screen with a display size of 1" x 1" reads clearly and visibly, even in sunlight Includes par and distance to front, middle, & back of each green Measures last shot distance Easy-to-use interface featuring automatic hole transitioning Rugged, waterproof design High sensitivity GPS Rechargeable lithium-ion battery Battery life is 8 hours of GPS mode and 3 weeks of watch mode Watch mode features GPS time and date, alarm, and automatic time zone detection Odometer provides distance walked on or off the course No annual fees USGA and R&A compliant Dimensions: 1.8" x 2.7" x 0.6" Weight: 1.8 oz. Garmin S1 GPS Watch includes: Owners manual Charging/data clip (new 4pin connection) AC charging adaptor Rechargeable lithium-ion battery Garmin S1 GPS Watch...Designed Specifically For The Course!
Average Customer Rating:
4.637 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(193 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 193 reviews
5 stars
142
4 stars
39
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
2
68 out of 7393%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Review 101 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet GPS

PostedMarch 26, 2011
TGW Customer
from Wichita
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has to be the easiest GPS unit I have ever used. It takes less than a minute to retrieve the course your playing. Once your off just walk to the ball, check your wrist, pull the club and go. I also have a Laser Rangefinder that I love, but the Garmin S1 is by far the easier of the two to use. I have already recommended this to many of my golfing buddies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 102 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

PostedMarch 21, 2011
mykel
from sugar land
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watch is very comfortable and ready to go right out of the box. I can get 2 GPS rounds out of it before recharge. In watch mode, battery lasts at least 2 wks. I rarely go 2 wks w/o playing so I tend to charge it at least once or twice a week. My watch came w/ old software, so it took me 30 min or so to update all the mapping data to the lastest version.
I love playing with it. Great compliment to my laser rangefinder, which will always give me exact distance to the flag. Also good for determining if flag is in front/back/middle when you use laser and S1. The S1 is most helpful when I'm outta the fairway and just need distances to front and back. I don't have to reach for my laser nor have to call my playing partner for help when he has the cart where his ball is.
Course loads within 60 seconds and watch is very simple to use. Backlit display is activated with a press of a button, makes it useful in the dark so I can use it as my everyday watch. Very glad I bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 103 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Garmin S1 GPS Watch

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
TGW Customer
from RALEIGH
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My approach to golf is simple. I want the distance to the front back and center of the green. I have a golfbuddy gps and am tired of providing info for the rest of my foursome. I put on my Garmin S1, go to my ball and play golf. It is clear, concise, accurate, discreet and always with me. What more could you want? When you arrive at the course. Push the lower left button. It asks if you would like to download the course listed? If you are at a complex with more than one course, it will give you your choice. I have no depth perception, this Garmin watch is what I have been waiting for! Thank you Garmin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 104 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Item

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
TGW Customer
from Longmont
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. Very simple and convenient to use. Hooking up to the charger is a little awkward. Priced somewhat high. Like the "no fee" for courses. Great for travel. Will keep my Sky Caddie though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 105 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First time GPS user

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
TGW Customer
from CINCINNATI
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a first time GPS user and the Garmin GPS watch is the most convenient device that I have been exposed to. You lose a little visual functionality which is OK with me, but front, back and middle distances are accurate and easy to check regardless of where you are playing your shot from. Charging is relatively easy and the battery holds a charge for several rounds. Probably paid more than I ever planned for a GPS device but the convenience of being able to wear it on your wrist makes it worth the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 106 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best gps in the market .

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
viroon charoenmitr
from St. Petersburg
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best gps in the market . I recommen to many people. It pre loaded course. That the great idea.very easy and convenience.
I'm glad to bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 107 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE WATCH-Best All Round Golf Range Finding Device

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
TGW Customer
from Bluffton
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! We've been showing it to all of our golfing friends. You've sold several to golfers in Bluffton, SC because of our advertising. Totally lightweight and comfortable,easy to use,secure from loss or theft on your wrist,no yearly subscription fee, 14,000 golf courses loaded and ready.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 108 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
TGW Customer
from Sarasota
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just a great idea to have the GPS in your watch.
If you walk or ride it is with you. No annual fee makes it
even better. I have played six rounds with the Garmin watch
so far and no problems at all. The guys I play with all
are thinking of trading in there GPS units for the watch
style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 109 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very reliable

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
FD
from Granbury
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How to remove a scratch from the dial. I have a scratch can it be buffed out?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 110 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very convienient

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
TGW Customer
from Elmhurst
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, simple and easy to use. Ver convienient on the course. Great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 111 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

so much eaiser to handle. wears like a watch

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
helen j cook
from streetsboro
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
never gets lost in my golf cart. love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 112 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wife loves it; I'm a little envious

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
TGW Customer
from Albuquerque
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for my wife because she was always asking me for distance (I have latest Sky Caddie). She found it incredibly easy to use, and loves its second feature, a gps monitored pedometer as well. We use it at our home course, but just traveled to Palm Springs, and it worked on all the courses out there as well--no downloading. If I didn't already have the sky caddie, would seriously consider getting a second one of these. I have found that a lot of the information on the sky caddie is extraneous--exception would be how far is it to carry that annoying pot bunker in the fairway, which the Garmin won't tell you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 113 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Almost as good as a caddie on your wrist - without the sarcasm

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
TGW Customer
from Tallassee
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very lightweight, adjustable band, and accurate. I checked it with other GPS's in my group and it's on within two yards every time. Plain Jane info - Yardage to the front, middle, and back. All you need for regular play. Only down fall so far is that if your jacket sleeve covers the watch for more than 5 or 10 minutes, it looses satellite contact and you have to start it again. Otherwise, it's a nice to have your GPS on your wrist where you stand vs. having it hanging on your belt, bag, pushcart, or on the dash of your cart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 114 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easiest to use GPS on the market.

PostedDecember 31, 2010
TGW Customer
from Fort Worth
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super simple to use golfing GPS. No loading course information for any course. Just turn on GPS mode and you're ready to go with the distance to the front, middle and back of the green.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 115 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

s1 watch satalite

PostedDecember 30, 2010
H BRAJU RAJU
from BANGALORE -560008
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased in usa but it is not working in india no maps are available so wrote a letter to garmin they say it will work only in north america and canda.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 116 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best GPS

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Whale
from Paxton
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new watch. It is easy to use and it is always right on my wrist for fast play.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 117 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Distance Device

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Whale
from Paxton
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used all types of distance devices and this one is simplest and fastest to use. Just look at your wrist and you have the front back and middle distance to the green. It doesn't give you the exact pin distance like a laser or distance to hazards like many of the other devices but if you are like me and just want the distance to the green this is a good choice. Plus, NO downloads or yearly fees are big.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 118 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedDecember 6, 2010
TGW Customer
from San Diego
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding piece of equipment. No more reaching in your bag for the range finder. I use the odometer feature for running too. Very pleased with its accuracy and convenience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 119 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedNovember 30, 2010
TGW Customer
from Honolulu
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect. No need for all the other stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 120 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This GPS watch will give you the basic information

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Ron Roark
from Hudson oaks
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Download 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accuracy 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been using a Bushnell range finder but it quit working. I wanted to use something more convienent thats why I switched to the watch. It's handy and simple to use, just look at your wrist which is nice. The issue is you' re just getting basic information, front, middle, back but sometimes I want to find out how close the water is or how far is it to the sand traps but it doesn't give that. Overall it's nice to use but it's just for basic info.
Pros: Durable
Cons: just gives the basics
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 next>>