The Golf Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch

Garmin Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch

<font face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size=3" color="#000000"> Limited Time Only! Was: $249.99, Now: $149.99, Garmin S1 GPS Watch...A Multi-Function GPS System ! The Garmin S1 GPS watch is not only a comprehensive sport wristwatch with advanced functions, but also a GPS unit that provides thorough distance measurements on the course. Be the first to display the first and only golf GPS wristwatch on the market at your next game. Your buddies will be jealous! Garmin S1 GPS Watch features: Preloaded with thousands of courses and ready to go out-of-the box Easily switch between U.S. or Canadian courses for free by downloading the desired coverage area from the Garmin CourseView Updater webpage http://www8.garmin.com/support/courseview_updater.html Garmin offers FREE LIFETIME COURSE UPDATES so you can have the latest and greatest course data available Monochrome LCD screen with a display size of 1" x 1" reads clearly and visibly, even in sunlight Includes par and distance to front, middle, & back of each green Measures last shot distance Easy-to-use interface featuring automatic hole transitioning Rugged, waterproof design High sensitivity GPS Rechargeable lithium-ion battery Battery life is 8 hours of GPS mode and 3 weeks of watch mode Watch mode features GPS time and date, alarm, and automatic time zone detection Odometer provides distance walked on or off the course No annual fees USGA and R&A compliant Dimensions: 1.8" x 2.7" x 0.6" Weight: 1.8 oz. Garmin S1 GPS Watch includes: Owners manual Charging/data clip (new 4pin connection) AC charging adaptor Rechargeable lithium-ion battery Garmin S1 GPS Watch...Designed Specifically For The Course!
Average Customer Rating:
4.635 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(192 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 192 reviews
5 stars
141
4 stars
39
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
2
67 out of 7293%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Review 41 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The most practical yardage indicator I have used.

PostedJune 5, 2011
TGW Customer
from Caballo
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without a doubt the Garmin S1 GPS Watch is the best yardage device I have used. It is so simple and accurate that I will not go back to my lazers. I could not be happier with this unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good GPS Watch

PostedJune 5, 2011
TGW Customer
from Williamsburg
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Good GPS Watch - Very accurate!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to use, more convienent than hand held or phone app

PostedJune 6, 2011
Steve SHoemaker
from Brentwood
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The GPS / watch works perfectly. Most of my playing partners have handhelds and phone apps and this is easier to use and more reliable. I am not a big gizmo guy and appreciate the simplicity and accuracy. The only glitch I have had is the water resistant/ waterproofing. My unit was splashed with water and fogged up on the inside. Likely isolated to just my unit. All my playing partners that use hand helds and phone apps are ready to get one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

very comfortable watch and not too big

PostedJune 6, 2011
TGW Customer
from saint joseph
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
found the gps watch to be accurate within 5-10 yards and doesnt sync to the flags on the green but is quicker than getting the laser out for every shot and if you look at the pin sheet the accuracy is probably withing 3-5 yrds. wonder when the courses were scanned for the reading because my course has had some changes in the last few years and the gps is off on a couple of holes----still like it and look forward to using it on newer courses
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good device

PostedJune 6, 2011
TGW Customer
from los angeles
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well. Very happy. Battery is the only negative, only good for 27 holes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedJune 6, 2011
TGW Customer
from AMARILLO
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Garmin S1. You don't have to download any courses. No yearly dues. The only problem is it doesn't have one hole on the 4 courses I play. I have contacted Garmin and they promise to rectify the situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great item!

PostedJune 6, 2011
TGW Customer
from Carmel
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tool! Love being able to walk up to my ball and quickly assess distance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Product

PostedJune 6, 2011
TGW Customer
from Macedonia
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My buddy has a rangefinder, always messing with it. My other buddy has a regular GPS, always messing with it. I have as they call it the "Dick Tracy Watch" and all I do is look down at my wrist and get yardage to the green. Easy and accurate as my buddy's rangefiner or the others GPS. They both started asking me for yardage. For our game we don't need yardages to everything. Front, middle and back is good enough. No fees, all the courses in my area what could be better?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent range finder

PostedJune 7, 2011
TGW Customer
from Springfield
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wear a watch when I play golf and this Garmin is fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great GPS without subscription cost.

PostedJune 8, 2011
TGW Customer
from Livermore
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used the Garman S1 once since buying and was pleased. I have a Skycaddie SG5 and wanted to try something different that was smaller and easier to handle. The Garmin S1 wrist watch style worked great. The distances seemed accurate although when compared to the SG5 were different by 1 - 2 yards. Not sure which unit is to blame and will test again the next time I play.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Handy that you can have it on you wrist all the time. Distances are very accurate.

PostedJune 8, 2011
TGW Customer
from ELYSBURG
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could have a larger wrist band. Accessing new courses was made easy by the Garmin rep, he was a big help.All in all it is a good product for the price I paid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super GPS!!!

PostedJune 11, 2011
TGW Customer
from Henderson
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hands down the best golf purchase I've made in a long time. Dead on accurate and so easy to use!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just look at your wrist and go!

PostedJune 11, 2011
TGW Customer
from Traverse City
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than the handhelds or rangefinders- better pace of play, no fumbling around or annoyed looks from your partner. Sure- it doesn't keep score or tell you the distance to the hazards, but who cares? Every course pre-loaded and ready to go, too. Just okay battery life, weird charger on the downside. Bottom line: Cheaper than a new club and will shave more strokes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Takes the guesswork out of distances.

PostedJune 18, 2011
Glen H
from Springdale
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for convenience such as this in a GPS system. It's ease of use and multi-function makes this product a must-have on the course. The only problem I have now is that all my playing partners use me for distances on their shots. I guess it's not all bad being the most popular guy in the foursome. Now, if I can only get it to help me with my putting I could cut my handicap in half.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good basic GPS

PostedJune 23, 2011
TGW Customer
from Chandler
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good GPS for your basic needs, if that's all you need, like me.
Plenty of courses pre-loaded AND no annual fees!!! Works great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Idea

PostedJune 25, 2011
TGW Customer
from CAPE HAZE
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent operation.
Easy to use, very accurate. No more need to pull out my Sky Caddie or another range finder. Besides that there are no hidden charges as with the Sky Caddie.
Wish battery life longer, but nevertheless, it's the best range finder there is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great GPS

PostedJune 27, 2011
TGW Customer
from Little Neck
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this GPS watch to not only be accurate, but also very convenient to use. It is always on your wrist|
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive!

PostedJune 28, 2011
TGW Customer
from Wichita Falls
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am just so impressed by a wristwatch sized GPS device that does all I need. My playing buddy has an older Skycaddie that this S1 has covered for functions. Besides it's ALWAYS with me. I carry a laser in the cart if I just HAVE to know precise yardage. Frankly I consider myself a pretty good golfer and knowing it's actually 73 yards and not 78 yards is beyond my golfing capabilities to not make any real difference. It's always with me and not back in the cart and has helped speed up my play. Te only significant improvement I would suggest would be a car charger. I carry my equipment in my trunk and have to always remeber to get the S1 from its charger at my home.NO FEES EITHER!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use, comfortable accurate

PostedJune 29, 2011
TGW Customer
from Aventura
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On certain holes the "plus" button must be used to move the play to the next hole. Always the same holes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Garmin Approach S1 GPS Watch
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yes - the rangefinder you've been looking for

PostedJune 30, 2011
TGW Customer
from Porter
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is it – hassle free – it works – it’s on your arm ready to glance at anytime – wow!
For those of you that don’t know it, all of the GPS rangefinders are less accurate than the lasers; BUT, GPSs are pretty good and 10 times more convenient. With this GPS unit, not having to hook up to your computer, find courses and load them is so great. If you want the best, most convenient, and coolest rangefinder, your search is over.
BTW, if I have a critical yardage that I want to be spot on, I just check the watch when I’m walking over a course yardage marker on that hole, note the difference between that and the watch (plus or minus a yard or two or three) and adjust the yardage when I get to the ball by that amount.
It’s just sooooooooo cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>