The Golf Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wilson Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Golf Warehouse.

Wilson Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons

Wilson Sale! Great New Price On Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons! The completely redesigned Ci9™ is one of Wilson's best performing irons ever. It is the third generation of the award-winning C (control) iron, offering maximum playability for players of varying skill levels. Offering "player's club" looks in a midsize head, the Ci9 is a great choice for better players looking for classic design and workability, as well as for improving players looking for stability and playability. Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons feature: Set includes: #4 thru PW (44°) • GW (48°) Available separately: SW (56°) Graphite and Steel shafts available in Uniflex, Regular or Stiff flex Half Graphite/Half Steel shaft (RH only) also available in Uniflex Senior flex available in graphite only Available in left and right-hand Click Product Tour for more information Ci9 Irons...Extremely Playable, Midsize Iron For All Players!
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(73 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
56 out of 5798%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Review 1 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very clean looking club that you can still work

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Born2Putt
from Atmore,Al
Frequency of Play:less than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading several reviews on this Ci9 set of irons I selected them because of the size of the head, somewhat narrow sole, workability ,and price quoted on The Golf Warehouse. When properly contacted you get a very nice feedback, however an off center hit still gives good distance but it does remind you that your swing needs work. I have only had these clubs a few weeks but already trust them to do their part in accuracy and consistency.
I bought regular shafts and normally do not hit as high a shot as these clubs are capable of. I have no problem with the trajectory however.
This set came with 4- GW . I got used to the grips and could play them without a glove. They will get changed by summers end I imagine.
Do not overlook these irons as they have feel and quality to compete with much more expensive brands.
My last major irons used were Ping I3s but also have G5s and TM R7.
Pros: High quality, Durable, clean lines and nice head shape and designnotapro
Cons: grips weren't a selling point to be nice about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid performers

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Walter1023
from New york
Frequency of Play:less than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got back into golf after a bit of a hiatus Took these irons to the range a few times already (have not played on the course yet) but was very impressed with how nice they feel. Able to hit some straight long shots
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent irons

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Pdaddy
from Wauconda, IL
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I played the Ci7's for 3 years and wanted to upgrade, the Ci9's have all the qualities I expect from Wilson irons; great lines, great workabilty and best of all you can score with them!
Pros: High quality, Durable, great lines and look
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product and I've seen many

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Golfloyd
from wheeling wv
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 61yrs old and dont hit it as far as i used to but am still a 2.3 hndcp. played callaway x22 irons for 2 yrs and mizuno blades for 2 yrs before that. Am more comfortable with the CI9 irons with reg shafts in 4 wks than previous 2 sets. Theyare 1/2 club longer and offcenter hits no more than a few yds shorter
Pros: High quality, i like thelook and the top line
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GETTING OLDER TIME FOR A CHANGE

PostedAugust 12, 2013
JUSTDAVE
from ARKANSAS
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY NICE CLUBS
LOFT, LIE, LENGTH AND FLEX ARE 100% ON
PUT THEM ON MY FREQUENCY ANALYZER PERFECT 5.5
YOU JUST NEVER SEE THIS--GREAT!!!--
STOCK GRIPS NOT FOR ME-
THE ONLY THING, IS IT IS NOT AS EASY TO SHAPE THE SHOT--BUT TO BE EXPECTED--
OVER ALL A GREAT CLUB--
AND A VERY NICE TOP LINE FOR THIS STYLE CLUB--
GO WILSON--
ABOUT TIME TO GET BACK IN THE GAME--
WILSON FOR LIFE--
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: stock grips
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Blades to CI9 WS Irons

PostedJuly 15, 2013
maxbob7
from berlin, ct
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, age 59, CI9 stiff, 14 handicap, given that, no issues with build, grips are labeled WS, shafts are Dynamic stepped, and heads are CI9. I am used to hitting blades, and these are + one club, accurate, with stop on the green. I love them so far, no give up in these irons, doing very well, if you can hit blades, you will love these, period.
I will change the rubber (good) grips at some point for cord, since I am used to that. Else, I have no hesitation in recommending these!!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, you can tell when you hit it sweet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product....Recommend Highly

PostedJuly 12, 2013
JPJS
from Cincinnati
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great irons...very solid. I have tried several iron sets over the last couple of years and my search is now over. I have played these for a couple of weeks now (rounds) and love the distance and control they offer.
Pros: High quality, i think the grips are fne...no problem
Cons: wish i had bought them earlier
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best irons ever offered for the money

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Nobogez
from Springdale
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been playing Taylormade Burner irons for several years and thought they were the best I'd ever played. However, these W/S Ci9 irons are equal or better in every respect. They provide consistent yardage with a high flight. They are as long as anything I've ever played and I get good results even with imperfect swings. I'd recommend them to anyone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good clubs, Great price, excellent service

PostedJuly 4, 2013
WAL7
from TX
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These Ci 9 Wilson Staff clubs replace my10 yr old Ping i3's. Like the bladed look and perimiter weighting
They are slightly longer, feel they are slighgtly "stronger" too.
Less offset which helps my game --offset clubs don't seem to help me and i always felt like i was fighting the Pings. These clubs are easy to hit and hit straight. Looked at a lot more espensive sets- Mazuno, Titleist -- but liked the look of these best and for the $$ thought i would give them a try. I feel these WS clubs are way under rated in todays hyper- marleting world. Very happy. TGW service was excellent as well.
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedJuly 2, 2013
vagolf
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:0-6
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to hit, great quality Nice to see Wilson back
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved these clubs

PostedJuly 2, 2013
NHhackfest
from Rochester
Frequency of Play:every week
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned Wilson clubs in the 80 which I remember liking. Got married and away from the game for 25 years. I'm back now for two years. Played Callaway clones for a year and tried Taylor Made Burner 2.0 which just were not comfortable which sent me searching for a decent value that I could afford after buying the TM 2.0s. I rediscovered Wilson Staff. I knew I did not want to pay a multi hundred dollars just for a major name logo.
I test hit a number of clubs including Wilson Staff D100 and Ci 11 and found I hit them both well. They had a much sharper leading edge of the sole and I believe they had less bounce. I loved the Ci 11 but were still pretty pricey so after a little more research, I decided to go with the previous version of the Ci's. I LOVED THEM.
Narrow sole, and were significantly lighter than the TM 2.0s. I don't know if it's the shorter staff, slight difference in the lie angle, or just psychological, but my swing is right on the money and all of the sudden, I'm hitting straight to the target. Distance is up to my swing, not a sledge hammer at the end of a stick so I for the first time understand what they mean by "feel". I have more control over distance.
First time out, I played one ball for 18 holes which for me is amazing for me and hit most greens with my approach shot. Further, the lighter head made my chipping with my 7, 8 and 9 irons more accurate and gave me much more control over distance and direction.
I saw immediate improvement of my game which I'll take even if it's psychological. I do not have a complaint and wish I bought these the first time.
Take a close look at Wilson Staff. I have also fallen in love with the Tour FG balls.
Pros: High quality, light on the back swing, great feel, super affordable, great control
Cons: none yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short Irons are great!

PostedJune 25, 2013
floggolf
from Syracuse, New York
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Playability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will qualify this review by saying I'm getting use to these clubs. They are much different than my Ci 7s. They are great when I hit them, but it is taken a longer adjustment period than I expected. Seem to have to stand further from the ball to hit them. I see no problems with the quality of the grips that the others have reported. Jury is still out for me on these clubs. Irons G-8 are great, very easy to hit. Irons 7-4 are much harder for me to hit well.
Pros: High quality
Cons: may take a longer learning curve than expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great clubs for the price, but there are issues

PostedJune 19, 2013
tigernation
from Forest City, NC
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased these clubs as an early Father's Day gift and was waiting to write an accurate review after using them for a few rounds of golf. Unfortunately that will not be happening. During the first time at the driving range, the 4-iron shaft snapped in the grip, rendering it useless. The other clubs performed great, but not having the 4-iron was upsetting. See further comments below.
Pros: Durable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great irons for a great price

PostedJune 11, 2013
crazy8s
from Germany
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these based on the price and reviews. I was skeptical about purchasing Wison irons but these irons are fantastic. Instant game improvment. The clubs are easily controllable and they hav a great feel and look at address. Highly recommended for the price. You wont be dissapointed.
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelievable find

PostedJune 4, 2013
EddieK
from Buffalo, New York
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wilson Staff! This name takes me back 30 years. I was delighted to see this company make a come back. I will re-grip with oversize velvet, just because that is what I use. Based on the price of purchase, this is like a free improvement. The Ci9 is the most eye appealing iron I have used in years. I am a 10 handicap, twice a week player, and would recommend this iron set to anyone looking for a pro line, thin head iron. Just do it!
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good control iron

PostedMay 28, 2013
Phantom111
from Worcester, MA
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grew up playing Wilson Staff Forged so when I saw this deal, I decided to pull the trigger for a new set of irons.
I have only used them once and most everything I hit came off the toe but the distance and accuracy were still good. I feel that with time, I will hit these better and even add some distance compared to my old clubs.
Overall I really like the look and feel of these clubs.
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful, accurate, workable and unbelievable feel

PostedMay 26, 2013
LeftyBallStryker
from Midwest
Frequency of Play:every week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 8-10 HC when playing regularly. Can shoot 70s on a good day and 90 on a bad day if not hitting enough balls. I've always liked the look and feel of forged blades and was playing Titleist 735cm for last couple years. I gotta say, these Ci9s give me both, while giving me a powerful mid-high ball flight that lands softly. I won't lie, a good Mizuno iron may feel better, but I promise you these are pretty darn close. The ball flies off the face and you can feel the ball pocket off the club just like a forged iron. And the distance and power you get are amazing. I'm mid 40s and getting distances I got 15 yrs ago. And they are an accurate honest club. No fliers or supercharged distances, just solid high ball flight with consistency you need to score. The soles on the pw and gw are wider than a blade, which worried me, but take to the range and you will dial them in as I did. Nice medium topline and a classy chrome finish (the wife loves the look for what thats worth) And some complain about the grips, same thing, i used them a couple times and they do get tackier. Shafts are the TT R flex, which I thought would be too soft but aren't whippy at all and again feel great. I highly recommend these irons for a low-mid capper wanting to keep the feel and look of blades, but wanting some additional power and forgiveness. Very happy with these new sticks.
Pros: Durable, High quality, accurate and powerful while not being too big
Cons: none really
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great clubs at a great price

PostedMay 24, 2013
BlueT
from Cape Cod , Mass
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These clubs are very easy to hit and quite forgiving on off center hits. They are well worth the money .I would recommend this set to any low to mid handicap player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent choice for value.

PostedMay 16, 2013
Mark55
from LA
Frequency of Play:less than once per week
Golf Handicap:7-12
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This club is excellent choice for value with nice mix of forgiveness with a tour look and feel. If you like the look and feel of a blade with less offset than clubs advertised as "game improvement" for a price that cannot be beaten, WS ci9s are worth a try. I played WS ci6s for several years before buying these.
Pros: High quality, value
Cons: no 3 iron
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff Mens Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedApril 25, 2013
Geeezer
from Minnesota
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Golf Handicap:13-20
Accuracy/Forgiveness 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Playability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Ci9 irons are fantastic. Great grips,weight ratio,club angle,appearence ,and price.
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>