The Golf Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wilson Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Golf Warehouse.

Wilson Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls

Great Value On Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls! For every level of play, Wilson delivers performance equipment that helps golfers play their best. The renowned distance and cutproof durability of Wilson golf balls is guaranteed to drive your golf game to new levels. Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls feature: Designed to deliver a firm response off the tee for maximum distance Delivers a soft response around the green for an exceptional feel Unique blend core creates a low spin rate off the driver to help reduce hooks and slices Two soft magnesium surlyn covers for distance, durability and value Available in 18-Ball Pack Wilson Smart-Core...The Smartest Decision You Will Ever Make!
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(143 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
5 stars
83
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Review 1 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for the money.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
benjamminman
from Independence, OR
Frequency of Play:every week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been playing yellow Wilson Smart-Cores for over 3 years now. I have to play the yellow balls because I'm unable to see any white golf ball. Yes I've tried other yellow golf balls---------name brands one and all. For the money and the playability, Wilson Smart-Cores are one of the best values out there. Off the tee they provide great carry and control. With your approach shots, the ball grabs the green and holds. Backspin is just so-so. When it comes to putting, the ball has a wonderful soft feel to it. Believe me, your putting efforts will be rewarded. I highly recommend this ball------------- A lot of my friends are playing them as well.
Handicap 8
Pros: High quality, Durable, great visability
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ball for me

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
stargazer
from Mount Holly, NC
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these balls in orange and white. In the winter the orange is easier to find. These balls fly further off the tee and roll farther than any balls I have used, even much more expensive brands. Iron shots to the green land nicely. I need all of the distance help I can get, and these balls fit the bill nicely.
Handicap Too high to register
Pros: High quality, Durable, long distance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding for my level of golf

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Kahuna
from West Nyack
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't broken 80, but have come close. I have tried/bought just about every piece of golf equipment that comes to market- including golf balls. I used to be ashamed of this fact, stashing all my stuff in the basement - until I found out all my buddies do it too. But I cured myself of this illness when it slowly, painfully became obvious that it doesn't help a lick with my over-the-top move.
So, the Wilson Smartcore:
DISTANCE: The ball is not the limiting factor.
DURABILITY: Taking into account the life expectancy of my golf balls, these are blemish free as they duck-hook into the jungle.
SPIN: My wedges generally land softly then zip back like a yo yo......... in my dreams.
In reality- hit a nice shot and these stay on the green. I play a course with Stimp < 9 max.
DISTANCE CONTROL: Can a golf ball actually do this?
PRICE/VALUE: 18 (EIGHTEEN) balls for 15 dollars!!! Sure, they're not as soft or responsive (whatever that means) as the premium balls, but they're no rocks either. They don't feel much different than balls in the $24.95 - $31.95 range.
These play and feel extremely well- to my surprise. I don't think you will be able to blame these balls for your game.
Handicap 12-14
Pros: yellow ones are a nice bright pleasing pastel
Cons: would have preferred 24 balls for 15 bucks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The warmer the day, the better the results !!!!

PostedNovember 3, 2012
ropedope
from Palm Harbor, FL
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'd put this ball up against any in the industry !!! Pro V1 or Pr V1 x get close, but the cheapest Wilson (Nuclear Yellow) is the best perfoming ball I've ever used in my life !!!!
Handicap 11
Pros: High quality, Durable, superior feel around the green !, the hotter the better great feel off the tee !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Orange Golf Balls Easiest to Locate On Golf Course

PostedOctober 26, 2012
HappyHusband
from Maryland
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife loves these orange golf balls. They have become very difficult to find. I sure hope that Wilson will continue to manufacturer and market these balls.
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Jimmy49
from Anderson SC
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This ball is hot.For the price it is hard to beat.
Handicap 12
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ball for slower swinging graphic designer

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
NotPhil
from Oakdale, CA
Frequency of Play:more than once per month
Distance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife insists on using an orange ball because the color is "in" and cooler than white or pink or yellow. Since she's a designer, this feature trumps other details like say distance or control. Go figure.
Turns out this ball does a good job with her slow to medium swing speed, and she hits it consistently straight and pretty far for her size. Her best rounds have been with this ball (in orange), so I expect she'll stick with it for a while. I hope Wilson continues to make this ball and TGW continues to carry it.
Pros: Durable, cool color, good for slow to medium swing
Cons: hard to find
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best kept secrets in golf balls.

PostedAugust 26, 2012
HandyCapper
from Wisconsin
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Been playing this ball for years. Given its comparable performance to other balls out there, I see no reason to change from a bargain to an over-priced, over-hyped product.
Handicap 20
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very visable

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Hackattack
from Pennsylvania
Frequency of Play:every week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good distance.. Low driver spin help with slicing.
I bought these because they are very very easy to see off the tee in flight and on the ground
Handicap 22
Pros: Durable, High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Value

PostedJuly 28, 2012
rob7
from muncie, in
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This ball is the best value out there. It obviously doesn't the green as well as a Pro-V1, but it does quite well. The orange is extremely easy to spot; I think I'll add some yellow for the fall. You just cannot beat the price and performance combination.
Handicap 15
Pros: great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's the only ball I play

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Moparguy
from Pinckney, MI
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Personally for me, this ball performs to my game. I'm not a long hitter, but keep up with most of the people I play with. I chip and run many shots and it seems to react to my swing very well. I also like the way it rolls when I putt. However, TGW is one of the few places that still carry it and I know sooner or later I will not be able to find them. I've taken all other balls out of my bag and the Wilson Smartcore White is the only one I carry.
Handicap 18
Pros: High quality, Durable, not expensive
Cons: getting harder to find any more
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

PostedJune 26, 2012
punch6
from Red Wing MN.
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
like the bright look, soft feel off the putter head
Handicap 16
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great inexpensive ball

PostedJune 21, 2012
Android
from Weldon Spring, MO
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good ball for the price. A great value. It performs like a much more expensive ball. Good distance, spin control and durability.
Handicap 15
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

PostedJune 12, 2012
SilverFlightKing
from Mission, TX
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been playing this ball for over a year, I still play another ball every now & then, but I always seem to go back to to the smartcore.
I play both Orange & Yellow. I prefer the orange because it is easier to spot, especially if it hit a tree and is in another fairway. I am pleased with the distance off the tee and I cantrol my fade better, than with other balls. It is good for putting too.
Handicap 17
Pros: High quality, Durable, very easy to find if you are out of your fairway., great ball for the money.
Cons: does not bite a good as a pro v one
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedJune 1, 2012
Boso
from Atlanta GA
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as good as the more expensive balls AND GOES JUST AS FAR.
Handicap 19.7
Pros: High quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best bang for the buck

PostedMay 28, 2012
Noeffort
from CT
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Played them all (prov1, nike, callaway, etc.) and always come back to this ball. Got my1st hole in 1 with a yellow smartcore. Excellent all around ball. I have 3 dozen prov1's sitting around, and would rather play the SC.
Try them, you won't be disappointed.
Handicap 14
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PostedMay 15, 2012
iburnmup
Frequency of Play:more than once per week
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help Your Game? 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin/Distance Control 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the feel and distance I get with this ball. Off the tee it's like a rocket and the approch shots are excellent
Handicap 16
Pros: High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great ball at a great price!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
TGW Customer
from Little Rock
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Feel 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spin 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have played the Smartcore all summer and they have performed just great! Very visible on the fairway, green, or rough. I will continue to order these.
Wayne - Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ball for the money

PostedJuly 27, 2011
TGW Customer
from Grand Junction
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Distance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feel 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spin 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a swing speed between 85-90 mph and a 14 handicap. I have difficulty seeing a white ball unless it is against a clear blue sky. I play with younger men who are at least as good as me and who use expensive balls costing $3-$4 each. Routinely, my drives are as long or longer off the tee and my ball control is good aroung the green. I use a Wilson Smart core yellow ball exclusively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Smart-Core Straight Distance Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great ball, can't beat the price.

PostedJuly 13, 2011
TGW Customer
from Little Rock
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Distance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Feel 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spin 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great ball at a great price. The bright orange really stands out especially if you hit one OB. Easy to spot on fairways and greens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>